Academic All-State Announced

A number of Knox County students have been honored on the winter 2017 Academic All-State team by the Nebraska School Activities Association. For Wausa Gaige Hegge, Tyson Kaiser, Kayla Kleinschmit, Kristine Kumm, Hannah Nelson and Kara Seagren earned a spot.

Since 2006, this NSAA Award Program has recognized students who meet the criteria for nomination by their school in the season of their activity. Each year the NSAA and the Nebraska Chiropractic Physicians Association recognize students during fall, winter and spring Seasons who are nominated by their schools for their individual academic excellence, leadership and significant contributions in their NSAA activity.

To be eligible for the honor, students must meet three requirements:
1. A nominated student must be a varsity player or organizational leader who has played a significant role on the team or in the organizational activity during the seasons for which nominations are accepted.
2. A nominated student must have a minimum cumulative Grade Point Average, in all curricular subjects, of 93% or 3.7 on a 4.0-point scale or the equivalent.
3. NSAA high schools or their cooperative sponsorship may nominate a maximum of two students per NSAA activity program.

Any student, freshman through senior, is eligible for the honor.